NC Public Health Social Work Continuing Education and Training Advisory Committee
Social Work Month
Committee Members
CETAC Documents
Continuing Education Programs
Welcome Letter for New Public Health Social Workers
PHSW Standards and Competencies
NC Student Social Work Intern Field Placement Guidelines for Public Health Agencies
NCPHA Social Work Section
Social Work Section Awards
Speaker's Bureau
Achievements and Events Timeline
A History of Social Work in Public Health
Staying Connected
HRSA Grants for NC Graduate Students

CETAC Committee Members and Committee Rotation Schedule

Membership List
August 15, 2022

Name Address Work Number Email/Fax (if applicable)
Tonya Baldwin, MSW, CCM Wake County Health and Human Services
Eastern Regional Center
1002 Dogwood Dr. Zebulon, NC 27597
(919) 605-7077 Work Cell  Email:

F: (919) 404-4028 
Tonya Chesney, MHS NCDHHS/DPH/Maternal Health Branch
PO Box 1577
Elon, NC 24244-1577 
(336) 430-0189

Brandy P. Chrismon, MSW, CCM NC DHHS/DPH/MHB 
P.O. Box 948
Four Oaks, NC 27524 
(919) 218-0632
Dolly Huffman Clayton, MPA, MSW, LCSW Stanly County Health and Human Services
1000 N. First Street, Suite 2
Albemarle, NC 28001
(704) 986-2005

F: (704) 983-5818 
Tia Foula, MPA NC DHHS/Division of Child and Family Well-Being/Early Intervention Section
141 Storage Drive
Rocky Mount, NC 27804 
(252) 316-4806 

F: (252) 316-4843
Becky Goodwin, BS Beaufort County Health Department
1436 Highland Drive
Washington, NC 27889 
(252) 940-5081

F: (252) 946-8430 
Belinda Grant, CSW Mount Zion Community Development, Inc.
47 Eagle Street
Asheville, N C 28801 
(828) 252-0515

F: (828) 254-7150 
Rod Jenkins, Health Director Durham County Health Department
414 E. Main Street
Durham, NC 27701
(919) 560-7650
Laura Johnson, BSW Iredell County Health Dept.
318 Turnersburg Hwy
Statesville, NC 28625 
(704) 871-3478

F: (704) 761-2449 
Ellen Kesler, MLS, MPH, CPH Northwest AHEC
Wake Forest University School of Medicine,
Medical Center Blvd.
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1060 
(336) 713-7712

704-657-8631 (Work Cell)

F: (336) 713-7701 
Yolanda Massey-McCullough, MSW Fayetteville State University School of Social Work
1200 Marchison Road Fayetteville, NC 28301 
(910) 672-1210 
Karen McLeod, MSW Durham County Health Department
Human Services Building, 3rd Floor, WS-46
414 East Main Street 
Durham, NC 27701 
(919) 560-7869

F: (919) 328-6025 
Kim McNeal, BA, CCM Rockingham County Health Dept.
371 NC 65 Suite 204
PO Box 204
Wentworth, NC 27375-0204 
(336) 342-8167

F: (336) 342-8170 
Emma Miller, MSW, LCSW 3971 Little Savannah Road
Room 193
Cullowhee, NC 28723
(828) 227-3333
F: (828) 227-7708
Rebecca Moore-Patterson, MSW, LCSW NC DHHS/DPH/Maternal Health Branch
1929 Mail Service Center
5601 Six Forks Road
Raleigh, NC 27699
(919) 707-5709

F: (919) 870-4827 
Lisa Sammons, MSW Mecklenburg County Health Department
2845 Beatties Ford Rd.
Charlotte NC 28216 
(980) 314-9359 (704) 618-4508 Work Cell

F: (704) 336-4622 
Deborah Smith, MSW, LCSW NCDHHS/DPH/Maternal Health Branch
PO Box 948
Four Oaks, NC 27524 
(919) 830-6592 
Kelly Spangler, MSW, MPA 22 Laurel Hill Drive
Horse Shoe, NC 28742 
(828) 273-0418 
Rachel Wilfert, MD, MPH NCIPH
UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health
CB 8165
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-8165 
(919) 966-4085

F: (919) 966-9138 

Rotation Schedule For Committee Members

(1/1/22 -12/31/24) (newest) (1/1/21- 12/31/23) (1/1/20-12/31/22) (oldest)
Tonya Chesney (DPH) Dolly Clayton (PHP) Ellen Kesler (AHEC)
Tonya Baldwin (PHP) Rod Jenkins (NCLHDA) Deborah Smith (DPH)
Rachel Wilfert (Ex. Officio) Becky Moore-Patterson (PHP) Tia Foula (PHP)
Becky Goodwin (PHP) Laura Johnson (PHP) Kelly Spangler (NCPHA)
Emma Miller (SWF) Karen McLeod (PHP) Yolanda Massey-McCullough (SWF)
Vacant (PHF) Kim McNeal (PHP) Belinda Grant (PHP)
    Lisa Sammons (PHP)
    Brandy Chrismon (DPH)

Appointment is for a three year term.


PHP = Public Health Social Work Practitioner (9)
SWF = Social Work Faculty (2)
PHF = Public Health Faculty (1)
DPH = DPH Representatives (4)
AHEC = Area Health Education Center Representative (1)
NCPHA = North Carolina Public Health Association - Social Work Section (1)
NCALHD = North Carolina Association of Local Health Directors nonvoting, permanent Liaison (1) *non-voting member
Ex Officio = North Carolina Institute for Public Health Representative (1) *non-voting member

2022 2024 Officers

Chair: Brandy Chrismon January 2022-December 2023
Chair-Elect: Becky Moore-Patterson January 2022-December 2023
Past-Chair: Laura Johnson January 2022-December 2023
Secretary: Deborah Smith January 2022-December 2023
Asst. Secretary: Kim McNeal January 2022-December 2023
Historian: Kelly Spangler Continuous
Ex Officio: Rachel Wilfert Continuous

Meeting Quorum

Of the 18 voting CETAC members, a minimum of 9 voting members plus the CETAC Chair must be present at a meeting to vote on matters that require a vote before the committee.